The Board of Trustees is committed to providing all students with a classical liberal arts education. The board has goals that are established by the school’s charter.

The Board of Trustees of a charter school is a governmental body; it must comply with the state's Open Meeting Law, MGL c.30A, s.18-25. The Board meeting schedule and  time are subject to change at the discretion of the Chair.

It is the policy of the Board of Trustees of the Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School to solicit written concerns from parents/guardians prior to the monthly Board meeting. Letters addressed to the Board of Trustees must be submitted to:

AnnMarie Little, Director of Government Relations
10 New Bond St
Worcester, MA 01606
Attention: Board of Trustees

or by email amlittle@akfcs.org 

All requests to address the Board of Trustees must be submitted in writing not less than seven calendar days prior to the meeting; the request must identify the subject of the presentation to be made to the Board. The Board will seek, prior to the meeting for which the request is made, to notify the person making the request whether the Board will recognize him or her during the public comment period of the meeting.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 30A Section 20(f) governs public participation at open meetings of municipal government bodies as follows: Section 20(f). No person shall address a meeting of a public body without permission of the chair, and all persons shall, at the request of the chair, be silent. No person shall disrupt the proceedings of a meeting of a public body. If, after clear warning from the chair, a person continues to disrupt the proceedings, the chair may order the person to withdraw from the meeting and if the person does not withdraw, the chair may authorize a constable or other officer to remove the person from the meeting.

The Board of Trustees will make it a practice to set aside a period of time at each regular business meeting to hear from members of the public on matters that concern the School. The Board, acting by its Chair reserves the right to decline to hear any member of the public on a matter that the Board judges is appropriately addressed to the Executive Director or to any other administrative officer or that is for any other reason not appropriately addressed to the Board. 

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

Board of Trustees: 

Meetings at 6:30 p.m. in the 8th Grade Lobby, High School

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Thursday, June 18, 2020

 

Facilities and Finance Committee 

Meeting at 7:45 a.m. in the Executive Director's Office, Middle School

Friday, September 13, 2019

Friday, October 18, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Friday, December 13, 2019

Friday, January 17, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Friday, March 13, 2020

Friday, April 17, 2020

Friday, May 15, 2020

Friday, June 12, 2020

 

Education Committee 

Meetings at 7:45 a.m. in the Administration Conference Room, Middle School 

Friday, October 11, 2019

Friday, December 6, 2019

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Friday, March 20, 2002

Wednesday,  May 20, 2020

 

The Abby Kelley Foster Charter
Board of Trustees
2019-2020

  • Heidi M. Paluk P'22, PP'19, Chair
  • Patrick Royce, Treasurer
  • Celia J. Blue PP'18
  • Ryan M. Kittredge, CFP
  • Randy Schmid PP'19
  • Susan Scully-Hill, Ph.D., CRC
  • Shelly Yarnie P'30, PP'19